Prof. Antonio M. Echavarren

Antonio M. Echavarren obtained his PhD at the Universidad Autónoma de Madrid (UAM, 1982). After a postdoctoral stay in Boston College he joined the UAM as an Assistant Professor (1984-1986). Following a two-year period as a NATO-fellow at the Colorado State University, he joined the Institute of Organic Chemistry of the CSIC in Madrid, where he stayed until 1992. That year he returned to the UAM as a Professor of Organic Chemistry. He is also CISC Professor of Research since 2004. He moved in 2004 to Tarragona as a Group Leader at the Institute of Chemical Research of Catalonia (ICIQ).

Prof. Echavarren has been Liebig Lecturer (Organic Division, German Chem. Soc., 2006), Abbot Lecturer in Organic Chemistry (Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Campaign, 2009), Schulich Visiting Professor (Technion, Haifa, 2011), Sir Robert Robinson Distinguished Lecturer (Univ. Liverpool, 2011), Novartis Lecturer in Organic Chemistry (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 2015), Kurt Alder Lecturer (Cologne, Germany, 2017), Eastman Lecturer (Univ. California, Santa Barbara, 2019), Irvine Organic Synthesis Lecturer (Univ. California, Irvine, 2019), and 2021 Gerhard and Lisolette Closs Memorial Lecturer (Univ. Chicago).

In 2013, Prof. Echavarren got an ERC Advanced Grant (CATGOLD) and in 2019 he got a second ERC Advanced Grant (FOLDMETCAT). Among others, he was the President of the 49th EUCHEM Conference on Stereochemistry (Bürgenstock conference) in 2014, was Chair of OMCOS-18 in Sitges in 2015, Chair of European Symposium on Organic Chemistry, and European Chair of the Asian European Symposium on Metal-Mediated Efficient Organic Synthesis. Prof. Echavarren is a member of the Advisory Board of Org. & Biomol. Chem., Chem. Soc. Rev., and Adv. Synt. Catal.

He received the 2004 Janssen-Cylag Award in Organic Chemistry of the Royal Spanish Chemical Society (RSEQ), the 2010 Gold Medal of the RSEQ and the Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award from the American Chemical Society in 2015 (first awardee from Spain). He has been recently recognized with the 2022 "Enrique Moles" National Award in Chemical Science and Technology, the RSC Organic Chemistry Pedler Prize (2023), and the Rei Jaume I Award in Basic Research (2023).

He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, member of the Academia Europaea), has been Secretary General of the RSEQ (1999-2004), President of the Catalan Section of the RSEQ (2012-2017) and is President of the RSEQ (2018-). He is the current President of the Spanish Royal Society of Chemistry. Prof. Echavarren is the author of more than 300 scientific publications and has supervised 63 PhD and 48 Master students and 65 postdocs.